Where I got my world building ideas for Bandits

I’ve been in Hawaii for 2 weeks. A revisiting of the place I first got the idea for the world I would build for Bandits. Of course I morphed it up a bit, but I gotta tell you Hawaii is right here on Earth and is….in a word, amazing!

SOMETHINGS I HAD TO SEE TO BELIEVE

The green sand beach. See the picture above. That is it and I actually four wheel drove there with my husband, oldest son and friends.

The black sand beaches. I had a huge turtle walk up right next to me on this beach. The water was clear and warm.

Cliff diving – my son and his friend actually did this and it was just the most awesome thing I’ve ever seen.

Waipio Valley, is just like being in paradise. Waterfalls, black sand beach, plush surroundings that smell like sweet flowers. A horse actually came up to our car, looked at us then veered into the brush.

The Road to Hana, the most beautiful drive (besides the one we took to the Florida Keys) that revealed more beauty than is imaginable with each curve. This was the most curvy road I’ve ever in my life traveled.

Volcano National Park, when we came here 3 years ago we were actually able to see Lava flow – do you believe that! It was …like wow! and if you read Bandits, you’ll know that’s where I morphed Daniel’s family trove from.

Mauna Loa, the observatory where the telescopes stand above the clouds was another beautiful tidbit I used in my world building. Although not in this version of Bandits, stay tuned for more.

WHAT THINGS HAVE YOU SEEN THAT HAVE BEEN USED IN YOUR WORLD BUILDING or DAY DREAMING?

~ by LM Preston on July 6, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
