Romance in YA

Yeah, love is in the air. I’ve always loved romantic stories. I think it all started with those darn Disney Princess stories but it grew. As a teen I always loved to read about love – even when I read other books.

YA and ROMANCE

To be honest I believe a lot of YA books fall short on ‘romance’ but is heavy on heated love, sex scenes that are just blah or unnecessary and love triangles that are – lets face it, just plain unbelievable. I mean c’mon if there were two hot guys like Edward and Jacob at school – they would be chasing any girl that threw themselves at them and certainly wouldn’t be waiting around for a plain girl named Bella 😀

But we love those stories because – well, we wish that could happen.

I’d like to read a YA novel that actually had a scene filled with true romance (personally without the sex unless it is important to the character) and if they are going to put the sex scene in there, I wish they would be tasteful. But hey, that’s just me. I did however ask my daughter and she mentioned she thought they were just plain sleazy and didn’t add anything to the story for her so she would skip those parts.

HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT SEX SCENES in YA ROMANCE?

I asked my daughter to take a poll of her friends (14-15yr old girls) and her response was that 8 of the 10 girls said they thought they were icky, and spoiled some scenes for them. The other 2 girls said they liked reading them. All girls agreed that it made sex less curious for them and didn’t paint the picture that it was something fun to do. Hmmmmm.

TONIGHT on YAlitchat (check it out on twitter at 9pm on Wed) we’ll be chatting about Romance, so drop in.

~ by LM Preston on May 11, 2011.

One Response to “Romance in YA”

  1. Aaaah, Sixteen Candles…a classic! Sex in YA is a tricky beast. I prefer the thrill of realistic romance myself.

    Looking forward to the chat tonight.

Leave a Reply

 
