SUCKER PUNCH Movie Review


Fandango Description
: Locked away, a young woman named Babydoll (Emily Browning) retreats to a fantasy world where she is free to go wherever her mind takes her. Determined to fight for real freedom, she finds four women — Rocket, Blondie, Amber and Sweet Pea — to join together and try to escape the terrible fate that awaits them. With a virtual arsenal at their disposal, the allies battle everything from samurais to serpents, while trying to decide what price they will pay for survival.

MY REVIEW:

Let me just say I didn’t have high hopes for this one. But hey, it was STEAMPUNKish looking and I just wanted to check it out. Also, while on twitter, Cait, shouted out she loved it. So, I had to check it out. Let me say, I was not disappointed. There was a story of deceit, great feeling, and it was woven in several layers. So you had the reality, what really happened to Babydoll that placed her in a mental institution, then you had her 2nd layer of dreamscape that told the story of girls trapped in a brothel of sorts, then the 3rd layer was her and the others fighting for freedom in a Steampunk world that had a twist of everything you could imagine. Even my husband enjoyed it (not for the mini-skirts only that the women wore) for the fight scenes were simply awe inspiring beautiful. I give this a 4 our of 5 steam engines only because the ending was decent, but could have been better if they would have had her dream sequence with her dying but fighting in an all out battle to the death. (But hey, that may just be the writer in me being picky).

Baby Doll and her crew! I wish I was one 😀

~ by LM Preston on March 29, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
