You KNOW SOMEDAYS I THINK ABOUT GIVING UP WRITING



YOU KNOW SOMEDAYS I THINK ABOUT GIVING UP WRITING

Oh, c’mon writers you know you thought about it. Heck, even tried it. Yelled it, or whispered it quietly to yourself.

I SHOULD JUST QUIT WRITING, I have better things to do with my time than setting myself up for rejection, then spending hours upon hours in hopes of making it in the big time, or making peanuts for the five years it took to write and get published.

WHY don’t I? WHY can’t I? Because I love it. I love to create worlds, characters, stories, twiddle away at them to perfect them. I truly couldn’t stop even when I’ve wanted to. Whenever I get in a funk, and say, why am I doing this…my fingers start to itch and my imagination gets going and you know it…I’m writing again.


HOW TO GET A GRIP and GET BACK WITH IT

Surround yourself with other writers. You know, those that get where you are at. Those that don’t bring you down, rip you up, but those that lift you up, those that encourage you, and those that love your work and want to help make it better just like you do. Get involved, blog (blogging garners amazing support), write 😀 and talk yourself back in the game.

OPEN YOUR OWN DOORS

Just because your works aren’t out there, you can still be a great inspiration to others as a writer. Writing is like a portal to so much more than most can comprehend. There are things we do because we write that grow you as a person. To work on something endlessly until you perfected it…is quite frankly a gift, one that’s not to be wasted.

DON’T GIVE UP!

Don’t give up! I didn’t and have been awed by the fruitfulness of my labors. Tell me your advice on not giving up ….

~ by LM Preston on March 23, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
