I LIKE WRITING BOYs POV, but DOES it SELL?

I’ve been looking at my current Work In Process (which means books that I’ve written that I have to edit, or books that I’m writing now) and realized that I write a lot of MALE protagonist. I must be honest, it’s totally not on purpose, it is just what comes out of me. For me it’s fairly easy to write because I used to be a tomboy when I was little, but have always had more male friends than female. Not to mention, I’m an engineer who finds herself the only female in the room lots of times.

THE TREND IN YA

I’ve been looking at the 2011 upcoming book list, and I have to admit, the MALE POV (point of view) is scarce. Oh, there are beautiful covers for books for girls that make me want to salivate. But the dwindling boy books has me worried.

SHOULD I KEEP Writing IN BOY?

Since I do love the freedom and difference in writing in boy, all of my books have strong girls. I can’t help writing equally strong females. I personally don’t get warm and fuzzies reading about a girl that needs a boy to save her, or one that’s not that smart and finds herself in messes that she should have seen coming, or girls that are just absorbed in fashion and appearance. Since I don’t personally like to read books like that, I’m soooooo not like that myself, and don’t have many friends that are like that, writing a girl like that is quite a stretch for me.

So that brings me to think, should I re-evaluate my growing list of novels I want to write to include way more girls. I only have 3 out of the 22 ideas in my to-be-written folder with girls.

HERE’s SOME GREAT LIST for BOOKS Coming 2011

COLOR ONLINE’s list of books of People of Color coming out 2011: http://coloronline.blogspot.com/2010/12/2011-yamg-poc-releases.html

GoodReads list of books coming out 2011: Seems to be a lot of paranormal, Dystopian, and Romance books: http://www.goodreads.com/list/show/4672.Books_coming_out_in_2011

SO TELL ME WHAT I SHOULD DO….

Should I keep writing books with my MALE Protagonist with strong female support characters. Or should I go with the trends and write more FEMALE Protagonist?

As a girl, I do like to read books from the MALE point-of-view….but do other girls? Do guys even want to read these books…or do they just want to read Magna, Graphic novels or Comics?

~ by LM Preston on January 26, 2011.

2 Responses to “I LIKE WRITING BOYs POV, but DOES it SELL?”

  1. Hi! Although I write literary and upmarket commercial fiction rather than YA, I just love your question. My second novel (Separation of Faith, released September 2010) has a male protagonist, and I enjoyed that writing/emotional/challenging experience so much that my third novel is going to have a male protagonist as well. There are strong women in my stories as well, but there are also some weak/not-so-nice women and men in supporting roles. And because there’s a male protagonist in my second novel, I’m finding that there’s an equal number of men reading the book as women (so far, at least).

    I’m not a big proponent of novels with only a single character’s POV. So readers do see things through a few other characters’ eyes (primarily the women’s) as scenes or chapters shift. But the key character arc is distincly a man who readers have come to really care about and root for (to quote one of my local endorsements … 🙂 …).

    So, in answer to your question, I say stick with your man (or boy, in your stories)!

    Good luck, and all the best with your writing projects! –Cheri

Leave a Reply

 
