SILVER PHOENIX by Cindy Pon

Hello all, please welcome our Teen Book Reviewer, Nyia. She couldn’t wait to give her review of Silver Phoenix

BOOK REVIEW BY NYIA

When I first picked up the book I really liked the cover. The colors and the girl were so pretty I couldn’t wait to read it. I loved this story because it felt like I was in a different place. Where Ai lived was full of surprises and dangers. Her friend Chen seemed loyal and a good friend. Ai’s quest to find her dad made her stronger, more sure of herself and I liked her character a lot. The dialogue with the characters also helped to give me a feeling I was in another place, and her adventures kept me interested. It was like I couldn’t wait to see what the next test for Ai would be. I give this book a 4 out of 5 stars only because I would have liked to see more happen with Ai’s and Chen’s relationship.

LM Preston’s THOUGHTS about cover change:

After hopping around in the blogsphere, I’ve read about the drastic cover change to the Silver Phoenix. I’m saddened that a publishing company would have to go to such lengths to sell a book. I asked Nyia what she thought of the cover change and she was extremely disappointed. She’d been drawn to Silver Phoenix by the beautiful cover. Considering the publishers felt the book would be better marketed if they changed the cover, I wonder what they are going to do with the previous copies of the old covers. Hopefully, readers will be given a choice on which cover they’d like to purchase and I wish Cindy Pon all the best and much success on the sequel.

~ by LM Preston on August 9, 2010.

One Response to “”

  1. When I found out about this – or rather as soon as I could after I found out about it, I used a birthday gift card to order the hardback. I had been waiting for the paper back to come out but the cover change changed my mind. Especially after I saw the new proposed cover. It’s just like a lot of other covers out there. Nothing stands out, just a generic light-skinned chin and lower face. You can’t even see the eyes. So I splurged and bought the hardcover, even though I rarely buy hardcover novels by authors I’ve never read before, and hardcover full price at that.

    I also wrote to Borders about this, and plan to write to the publisher if I can find out exactly where to write to, who to address it to. If you have any ideas, I’d love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

 
