TEENS WHO THINK OF SUICIDE AS THE ANSWER

Being a Young Adult Writer, I often times have to ponder over my childhood. Sometimes I like the memories, and sometimes I want to forget them. However, I chose not to because I believe other kids can learn from my dumb mistakes.

WHY DO SOME KIDS DO IT?

I know the answer to this personally. Why? Because I spent two days in a hospital program that evaluated teens that decided to try their hand at suicide. Boy, was I surprised.

Many of the teenagers there did it just for the attention that their parents or friends gave them because of it. Others attempted it because they truly wanted to give up – they thought that life was just too hard to keep fighting away at it. Lastly, there were the other few kids, like myself, that just threatened to do it. Just to make a point to their parents.

I personally never tried to commit suicide. Although, when I was 15yrs old, I threatened to do it when I got into a fight with my mother. Oh, she got me good. She checked my tail into the hospital and refused to take me out until I realized just what it was, I was threatening to do.

A REAL REASON NOT TO DO IT!

I remember sitting there with these other teens. The teens who desperately argued that whenever they got the chance they would finish the deed; I felt great sadness for them. Why, because those kids were extremely depressed, had horrible home lives, or were so tormented by their peers that they felt defeated. Even at that age, it broke my heart. I usually had some great advice to give to my friends, but for these kids I could say nothing to change their minds. Also, with what they were going through, I truly felt ashamed to put my family through my little tantrum.

One question I asked them was, “Well, if you are going to commit suicide to teach someone else a lesson… They’ll live on, able to forget you, improve their lives, and have everything you wanted but gave up too easily to attain.”

Suicide is giving up. It’s taking away any chance you have at happiness, recovery, and victory over your problems.

Everyone else that is left alive, heals. The poor kid that died never gets the chance to heal or to enjoy all the things life had to offer. It’s like they squandered there blessing before they had a chance to collect it.

WHAT I LEARNED

After my mother finally allowed me to come home, I learned that throwing around threats like that only hurt myself. Also, it proved to others that I wasn’t as strong as I believed myself to be. Lastly, I resolved that giving up, only hurt me, because for everyone else – LIFE GOES ON.

WHAT I HOPE

I hope that any teen or person that feels that life is just too hard to continue on fighting through it. Dig deep, and realize, that tomorrow will be better. That you’ll grow stronger, and that you are never alone.

Call: 1-800-273-TALK (8255): for help.

~ by LM Preston on April 2, 2010.

2 Responses to “TEENS WHO THINK OF SUICIDE AS THE ANSWER”

  1. Heartbreaking topic today. I’m so sorry to hear about your brush with with this in childhood, though I’m glad your mom made all the right decisions to give you the perspective you needed.

    Teens need people like you pulling for them.

  2. Thank you. I wanted to write this when I heard about Marie Osmond’s son. Sad, sad story.

Leave a Reply

 
