Movie Madness (Avatar, Sherlock Holmes, Daybreakers)

I went to see 3 movies in the last two weekends. Because I am an action and thrill junkie, I went to see movies that I thought would give me a rush. All of them delivered.

Now I will forwarn you, I am not the type of critic that looks at a movie for plot and all that. I go to the movies strictly to be entertained. So, with that said, you know my expectations aren’t that high.

AVATAR (4 out of 5 stars)

Okay, I have to be honest. When I first heard of this movie I thought it was The Last Airbender (Avatar).The Last Airbender (Avatar). You see, my kids and I watch this cartoon all the time – and I love, love, love it. Now, once I realized that AVATAR the movie was about this guy who’s brain is placed in this being who he controls from another location, I was still intrigued. I went to see this at the IMAX movie, in 3D and I was truly impressed. The storyline was decent, and the scenery was downright amazing – especially when you see it in 3D. There was a sprinkle of love, lots of action, and a world that I would love to live in. My husband said it was like, Dancing with wolves, but in SciFi.

SHERLOCK HOLMES (3 out of 5 stars)

I actually liked this movie. It was visually interesting, dark, and the chemistry between the leading men was entertaining. Sherlock was intelligent, strong, and eclectic. Holmes was the sane one – or sort of the co-dependent one. Throw in a fake supernatural element that gets despoiled and you have a fun movie.

DAYBREAKERS (3 out of 5 stars)

This movie was a pleasant surprise. It had an okay story line. Vampires are running low on blood, and need to find a substitute or harvest humans to survive. Humans are on the run, and a miraculous cure for vampirism is found – but no one wants it. There was suspense, gore, attraction, and more suspense. Kind of quirky, but still a fun ride.

~ by LM Preston on January 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
