How I, a Sci-Fi Author Build worlds – My perspective of World Building

I once participated in a Sci-Fi critique group, where one of the authors asked about world Building.  Our leader never expanded on this topic.  When this topic was bought up, I pondered what I did when I build the many worlds I create for my books.

I believe everyone has their own methods.  However, here are some of mine that has helped me throughout the process.

EXPOSE YOURSELF TO EARTH AND ITS WONDERS

I love to travel.  Traveling and exposing yourself to different wonders of our world can be a key for the creation of your new world.

STUDY THE WORLD AROUND YOU

If traveling is not possible, or even if it is, take time to study and observe your surroundings.  Things that may not seem interesting initially can become an integral part of the world you create.  When you are walking or touring – take your time, allow your imagination to go beyond the obvious and ask yourself many questions.  For example, when I am flying in an airplane, I ask myself – “What if the clouds where black, blue, purple?” or “What if the sun was silver? or Lower to the ground?” 

Push yourself to expand on the world around you.  Enhance it or pervert it – it is your world you are building.

RESEARCH AND MAKE NOTE

I do a lot of research on the internet.  Truth be told, I don’t do a lot of reading, I just look at the pictures.  I tend to look at pictures for a long time, and sit back and see if it fits into the world I am creating.

I note what extremes I want my world to have.

I note what rules my world should have.

I note what kind of species could live in that world.

How would a human sustain this environment I have created.

Should I create something artificial in order to allow my humans to live here?

DRAW IT OUT

I draw out parts of my world or cut out pictures of places or things that fit into the world I am creating.  I make it look like a scrapbook in which I refer to during my writing.

DECIDE WHAT TO REVEAL ABOUT YOUR WORLD

I tend to create this elaborate world, and then I take out a lot of the tiny pieces that I believe the reader can fill in on their own.  Yet, I give the backdrop in the world the reader creates while reading the book.  I note the rules for that world, its species, animals and weaknesses.

USE OTHER RESOURCES AND BUILD UPON THEM

Research other mythological worlds, and change them, pervert them or enhance in order to fit your own story’s purpose.

FILL IN THE RULES

Address the main guidepost of your world.  How is it powered? Is it advanced? What does it look like? What’s the climate? What does the land feel like? Does it has a sun or a moon?  What are the major species? How do they interact?

HOW DOES YOUR CHARACTER FIT IN

Note how your characters fit into this world.  Are they from here? Do they visit? How do they survive in this world?

 

~ by LM Preston on September 13, 2009.

 
